23.-Members of the Legislative Council of Quebec, as at Apr. 30, 1965

(According to seniority)

		of Appointment
L. O. Grothé. L. Daribeau. L. Baribeau. Hillippe Brais. Ules Brillant. ÉLIX MESSIER DOUARD ASSELIN. ÉSO. B. FOSTER. LÉRALD MARTINEAU. OLIER RENAUD. ATRICE TARDIF. DOUARD MASSON. LIBERT BOUCHARD. EAN BARRETTE. LIBINY PAQUETTE OHN P. ROWAT. LINEST BENOIT. INTONIO AUGER. SCAR GILBERT. EAN RAYMOND. ESORGE C. MARLER (Leader). INTHUIR DUPLÉ.	De Salaberry Stadacona Shawinigan Grandville Golfe De Lanaudière Wellington Victoria Lauzon Alma De la Vallière Repentigny La Salle Sorel Rougemont De Lorimier Kennebec Les Laurentides Bedford Rigaud Inkerman Montarville	Dec. 20, 1927 July 25, 1934 Jan. 14, 1938 Feb. 16, 1940 Jan. 14, 1942 Feb. 12, 1942 Jan. 23, 1946 Aug. 22, 1946 Aug. 22, 1946 Aug. 22, 1946 July 20, 1952 Mar. 12, 1953 Nov. 24, 1954 Oct. 19, 1955 Oct. 29, 1958 Apr. 8, 1959 Sept. 30, 1959 Mar. 30, 1960 Apr. 27, 1960 Oct. 8, 1960 Aug. 21, 1963

Subsection 6.—Ontario

The Government of Ontario consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. Lieutenant-Governors from Confederation (1867) to 1959 are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 112; since that date, the position has been held by the Hon. Justice John Keiller Mackay, appointed effective Dec. 30, 1957, followed by the Hon. William Earl Rowe, appointed effective Mar. 1, 1963.

The House of Assembly, the single-chamber Legislature of the province, is composed of 108 members elected for a statutory term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 112; the Hon. John Parmenter Roberts became Premier on Nov. 8, 1961 upon the resignation of the Hon. Leslie M. Frost, Premier from May 4, 1949.

Besides the regular departments of government, the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the Ontario-St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board, the Liquor Licence Board, the Hospital Services Commission and The Water Resources Commission have been created.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (RSO 1960, c. 208 as amended) each member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$8,000 and an allowance for expenses at the rate of \$3,000 for every member of the Assembly representing an electoral district within the Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto and \$4,000 for every member representing any other electoral district. In addition, the Speaker receives a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$3,000 and an expense allowance of \$2,000; the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$2,000; and the Leader of the Opposition a salary of \$12,000 per annum in addition to his indemnity as a member. Each member of the Cabinet having charge of a department receives the ordinary indemnity as a member of the Legislature in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Premier is \$16,000 and for a Cabinet Minister having charge of a department \$12,000. By the 1956 amendment, every Minister of the Crown who is